The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has unveiled the 17-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20 series against New Zealand, slated to commence in January next year. The announcement comes as the Pakistan cricket team is currently engaged in a three-game Test series in Australia as part of the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 cycle, scheduled to conclude on January 7.

Quick turnaround for T20 series by Pakistan

Following the culmination of the Test series, Pakistan are set to swiftly transition to T20 action against New Zealand. The T20 series is scheduled to run from January 12 to 21, 2024, presenting a rapid turnaround for the players. Notably, this series will mark the first assignment where Men in Green will play without the leadership of Babar Azam following his resignation from the captaincy across all formats.

Shaheen Shah Afridi’s captaincy debut

Regarded as one of the finest bowlers globally, especially with the new ball, Shaheen Shah Afridi will lead the team in the T20 format for the first time. The PCB’s decision reflects confidence in Afridi’s leadership abilities as he steps into the role against New Zealand, the runner-ups of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Also READ: Ramiz Raja issues brutal remarks on Pakistan’s performance against Australia in the Perth Test

Blend of experience and youth

The 17-member squad features a mix of experience and emerging talent. Youngsters Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub, Haseebullah Khan and Sahibzada Farhan have earned spots in the squad, showcasing Pakistan’s commitment to nurturing young cricketers alongside established names. Destructive batter Azam Khan is also part of the lineup, complementing the presence of seasoned players like Fakhar Zaman, Babar and Mohammad Rizwan.

Pakistan squad for T20 series against New Zealand:

Shaheen Afridi (c), Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mojammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan.

Also READ: Australia announce their 13-man squad for Boxing Day Test against Pakistan

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *